Heidi

One of my all-time favorite books and lifelong inspirations:

heidi2

heidi3

heidi1

More than anything else I’ve ever seen or read, Johanna Spyri’s Heidi illustrates the absolute luxury of having only what you need and nothing more. Of embracing simple, quality design and natural materials. Of living modestly and close to nature.

A wooden stool, just the right height. A bed of hay and a view of the stars. A wedge of cheese, toasted over the fire. This is the stuff of my fantasies (and I don’t think that’s only because I spent a formative summer in Switzerland as a kid…). This is what I should strive for, at least as a guiding principle or vision.

Also, I could do this (more here).

Leave a Reply

