Back to Basics

b1

This is what every Sunday should be like. No, this is what every day should be like…

I did some cleaning around the house, including deep cleaning the bathroom and doing the laundry, using primarily safe ingredients like white vinegar, baking soda, castile soap, and lemon juice for the first time. I loved it! It’s been on my “to do list” to make my own cleaning supplies for years now. Today I just mixed them together in a bowl as I went, but I hope to do do it bigger next time. With essential oils. Make enough in bulk to last a while.

I also baked my third batch of bread as of late. I’m getting better at it, but I feel like I learn something new each time. Today I used mostly bread flour, with a little bit of whole wheat, since I wanted to try for something fluffier (?) than my first 2 batches which were 50% whole wheat. I know, it’s not that healthy. But I really don’t care. It’s absolutely heavenly. I don’t want to ever buy bread at the grocery store again (now from a proper bakery is another story; I’m just over the supermarket variety). I did add flax and oats to today’s batch for some texture and nutrients though. It’s cliche to say it, but there really is something so deeply satisfying about making fresh baked bread. I use a quick-cook recipe, so there’s no long wait for it to rise (takes about 20 minutes in a warm oven) but the recipe does require kneading, and I enjoy the process. I also realized it was easier (and more fun) to just mix by hand with a whisk and wooden spoon, than to pull out the KitchenAid mixer. It’s turning into one of my favorite things to do.

s1

Of course, another favorite pastime is visiting the park, which Herman and I also did. And I cooked some more this evening, Thai-inspired curried coconut rice and vegetables, using leftover lemon-infused Basmati rice I made the other day..yumm.

I’ve also been reading through my newest library books, alternating between them depending on my mood. I usually check out between 10-15 so I have lots of options. I only get one or two novels (or murder mysteries…), the rest are non-fiction, dealing with finance, homemaking, baking, health, etc. I freaking love the library. It really improves my quality of life.

Still a few more tasks to accomplish for the evening though!

s2

s3

Leave a Reply

