Ten Days in Scotland

The past week threw me some curve balls, the worst of which entailed a pretty serious and worrisome day at the vet for my dog Herman.  I actually had several appointments scheduled to look at potential wedding venues in Jacksonville on Saturday, but I decided to scrap those plans since I didn’t think Herman should be traveling, and I wanted to spend time with him and monitor him closely.

So instead, it’s been a quiet weekend at home, but it’s also been a creative one! For one thing I rescued some furniture and decor from the curb and put it to work on my front deck and in the backyard. It’s nice stuff in perfectly good condition (like those industrial metal bar stools that are everywhere right now); some neighbors must be moving and I’m so glad I spotted their castoffs first! And on a whim I decided yesterday was the day to make my first Blurb book, something I’ve wanted to do with my photos for many years. I tried it out with my pictures from a trip to Scotland I took in 2010–I called it “Ten Days in Scotland” and divided the book into two sections, film and digital photos.  I ordered a copy so we’ll see how it looks in person. Here a few snippets, though anyone who’s followed my blogs over the years has no doubt seen many of these before!

Film:

Scotland book

Scotland book

Scotland book

Scotland book

Scotland book

Scotland bookDigital:

Scotland book

Scotland book

Scotland book

Scotland book

Scotland book
book20
book21

In the back I included some shots of my tour group,  my grandparents (whom I traveled with), and me. But I can be shy about taking pictures of people, especially people I know. My grandfather in particular proved much more resistant to being photographed than the lochs or hairy coo. I literally only got one decent picture of both grandparents, the candid photo below (that’s a feather in my grandmother’s hair). But I really like it.

book19

book18

 

One Reply to “Ten Days in Scotland”

Leave a Reply

