Solo in Thomasville

Thomasville, GA

Thomasville, GA

Yesterday I drove about 45 minutes to Thomasville, GA to spend a few hours strolling alone through its downtown shops and antique stores.

Thomasville, GA

I know it’s nothing terribly exciting, but I don’t usually take off on that kind of excursion by myself, at least not that far from home. I should more often.

Thomasville, GA

It was nice to meander as slowly as I wanted without guilt, lingering to take pictures of the old buildings and browsing through the goods for sale inside them. For the record, I didn’t buy anything except a late lunch at a Mexican restaurant.

Thomasville, GA

Even the drive there and back was time well spent, giving me time to think and daydream away from the normal distractions and routines of daily life.

Thomasville, GA

It’s really eye-opening to spend that kind of time with yourself. I guess that’s part of the appeal of travel; having the time and space and privacy to get a sense of who you are. Away from your  normal environment and all the patterns, stresses, and assumptions that are so engrained in it.

Thomasville, GA

I felt like a slightly different person yesterday. And there’s no reason I can’t get in touch with her more often.

Thomasville, GA

Thomasville, GA

Thomasville, GA

Thomasville, GA

Thomasville, GA

Thomasville, GA

Thomasville, GA

Ribbet collage

Leave a Reply

